diamond

2 of 5 Stupid-And-Childish Stars – The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson.

This book’s title is stupid. It should have the subtitle as the title. Because this book IS “A Young Lady’s Illustrated Primer”. It has nothing to do with a Diamond Age. It’s just a story about an interactive children’s book. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. But, I signed on to read a Neal Stephenson book, a crazy romp through cyberspace. Not some story about some stupid little girl and the whore who talks to her through this interactive book.

Okay, I admit the whore’s story is kind of interesting. But this book isn’t about the whore’s story. It should have been! But, sadly, it’s not. It’s just about this stupid little girl’s fucked up life, with her abusive family. I don’t fucking care, okay? I just don’t. I’m an adult, goddamnit. If I wanted to read a fucking children’s book, I’d read a fucking children’s book.

I used to be a Neal Stephenson fan. I fucking loved Snow Crash, man. That shit was awesome. But this book is no Snow Crash. Yes, it has some amazing tech, but the story doesn’t support the tech. The story distracts from it. It’s about a young girl trying to survive her abusive parents. The tech does nothing to make that story interesting.

I wanted to slap the stupid little girl in the face so many times, while I was reading this book. I can see why her parents ignore her, or smack her upside her stupid head. But that’s because I can’t stand children in general. Which is why I couldn’t stand this book. I wanted that little girl to die a horrible death, so the story could get on to something interesting.

But no. It’s just endless crying and whining about her stupid, boring life. Come on, Neal. I know you can do better than this. There’s no need to write drivel about stupid little girls. Write something that someone might actually want to read. Stick to your awesome tech, and show me some action, goddamnit. Is that too much to ask?

Visit me at Goodreads.com and Follow me on Twitter

Comments
  1. jessmbaum says:

    awww 2 out of 5, I was afraid you were stuck in 3s. haha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

