safe

1 of 5 Unbearable Stars – The Safe by Daniel Barnett.

This book was way too fucking long. The story just didn’t merit the length. This should be a short story, at best. The author just filled this book full of filler. So much goddamn bullshit filler. So much small talk. How ’bout them Lakers? What’d you have for dinner last night? Who the fuck cares?

The story begins in an asylum for the criminally insane. Off to a good start, right? Not so much. I’ve visited these types of places, and I can say from experience that there is never a dull moment in a fucking insane asylum. But with this book, there are always dull moments. The whole fucking book is one long dull moment.

So, this book is total bullshit. There weren’t even any cool gang rape scenes. I mean, come on. That’s a staple of prison life for fuck’s sake. Okay, there were a few times when someone was about to whip out their dick and make some guy suck on it, but then they were like oh, nevermind.

So, this book was frustrating as hell to get through. There were really no plot devices or characters that really made me care enough to make me want to finish this book. But I did finish it, and I can say that in the end, it definitely was not worth the time and drudgery.

Visit me at Goodreads.com and Follow me on Twitter

Comments
  1. Hi, Glenn,

    I often appreciate your opinions but not the excessive and unhelpful swearing. My view: The “f”-bombs are boring. Please consider expanding your repertoire of derogatory terms to spice up your reviews because mostly, they’re excellent.

    Best to you,

    Sally

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      Hey, Sally. You see, the problem is that I’m a 45 year old man, trapped in a 12 year old mind. One time, one of my wife’s co-workers asked her if she had any children at home. My wife replied: “Yes. Just my husband. He’s 45 years old. But I swear, he’s a fucking child.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

