Desert Highway

2 of 5 Sleepy-Time Stars – Zero Hour by D.M. Baillie.

This is the most boring post-apocalyptic story I have ever read. I mean, there’s no real conflict until chapter 6 for fuck’s sake. Seriously? Come on, now.

Okay, sure. The world exploded, like in every other apocalyptic story. Big fucking deal. Our first-person narrator avoided conflict at all costs. Now, this is fine in a real-world situation. It’s very realistic. But, it doesn’t make for a good story. It’s just boring as fuck narrative. Oh look, the trees are on fire. My feet hurt, maybe I should rest for a bit. Oh look, a squirrel. Who the fuck cares?

After the 6th chapter, he does come in contact with other people, and helps some woman and her son from being gang raped. It would have been a more interesting story if he had watched them get gang raped, then rescued them, but whatever. I mean, by that point in the story, I was about to give up on the damn thing. I needed some kind of excitement, goddamnit.

But, it never really got exciting. It was just this guy and the people he meets, avoiding conflict throughout the rest of the book. Boo-fucking-hoo. Now, I have to go find a book where the world explodes, and people actually get gang raped. So, thanks for that inspiration D.M. Baillie.

Visit me at Goodreads.com and Follow me on Twitter

Leave a Reply

