Reflections of Death – gave me a good laugh

Posted: November 7, 2014 in 2 Star Reviews, Fiction, Horror
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

death

2 of 5 B-Movie Stars – Reflections of Death by Caroline & Neil Gebbie

I love horror movies, but I really fucking hate horror B movies. You know the type. They’re just so stupid. The only reason to watch those horrible movies, is for a good laugh. And, that’s the only reason you should read this book, for a good laugh. Because it’s not even a horror B movie, it’s more like a D movie. It’s just that bad.

This is the story of some idiot who somehow summons a demon from his bathroom mirror. It gives him a week to live, and just for fun, also gives his sister a week to live. What the bloody fuck is wrong with this monster? Why not kill them now? Why fuck around? You know the rest of the book is going to be these idiots coming up with a way to destroy you. So, just kill the fuckers and be done with it.

But no. Of course, it’s the standard villain crap. You can never kill the hero. Always give them time to destroy you. It’s these standard cliches that just drive me insane.

So, anyway, shit starts going crazy in the neighborhood. They find out that the creature has escaped its mirrored prison and is out to wreck havoc on our world. Will the hero save the day? Or will the monster rip him to shreds? Oh please, like you don’t already know what’s going to happen. This book is so fucking predictable, it’s pathetic.

There is plenty of gore in this book. Lots of blood and guts, if that’s all you’re looking for in a horror novel. I’m sure plenty of people would be satisfied with that, but I’m not.

I want a reason to care about these fucking idiots. There’s just no reason for me to keep reading, when I know what’s going to happen next. I know the ending of this fucking book, after the first 10 pages. But, I soldiered on to the end, because I really just needed a good laugh.

Visit me at Goodreads.com and Follow me on Twitter

Comments

Leave a Reply

