We Are All Completely Fine – or are we?

Posted: November 22, 2014 in 3 Star Reviews, Fiction, Horror
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

fine

3 of 5 Confused Stars – We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory.

I don’t understand this writer. His style drove me nuts. In the narrative, he kept using we like a first person book would use I. It drove me insane. Like he was narrating the story in first person, but he wasn’t.

I kept looking for who the first person might be. I waited until the end… No demon or anyone stood up and said “Gotcha! It was me all along.” Which was kind of what I was expecting. But no. So, I’m still left confused.

Other than that, it was a great book. A compelling read, with vibrant characters and a disturbing story. It centers around a therapy group of fucked up rejects who all have some supernatural element in common. They reveal their stories one by one until they finally learn what must be done. And no, it’s not group suicide. Good guess, though.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

