tunnel

4 of 5 Lord-of-the-Sci-Fi Stars – Tunnel in the Sky by Robert A. Heinlein.

Awesome book. Quite the compelling read. Damn thing kept me up all night. Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. Which kind of sucked because I started it around 2am. So, here I am. It’s 6am now, and I just finished this book. And there’s no way I’m getting any sleep because damn… This book was so gripping. It has my mind in a vise.

That being said, the book is pretty much “The lord of the flies” in space. Or, on a different planet, anyway. Its a pretty simple story. It’s just very well written and full of wonder. I do, however, wish there was a bit more conflict. I mean, they throw 100 teenagers on a distant earth-like planet, with just a few knives, and a couple scarce guns. They’re stuck there for 2 years. They have to create their own society. Build their own habitat. Create their own laws.

100 teenagers… and there is literally 2 fights in the whole damn book. Seriously? That’s total bullshit. They would be fighting constantly, just like The Lord of the Flies. So, if you can suspend your disbelief for long enough to finish this book, it’s well worth it. But damn, Bobby boy. They didn’t all have to be shiny happy people all the time for fuck’s sake.

So, fuck Bobby Heinlein in his shiny happy asshole. Because, fuck man. Teenagers are not this happy. Teenagers are fucking miserable. They would have killed each other so fast, and you fucking know it, you dead hippy fuck.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

