The Gollywhopper Games – is not very golly

Posted: December 5, 2014 in 3 Star Reviews, Fiction, Young Adult
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

golly

3 of 5 Not-Very-Hungry-Games Stars – The Gollywhopper Games by Jody Feldman.

My wife recommended this book to me, and I thought there was no way that I would actually enjoy it. But, I started in on it anyway. See, I’m not a fan of puzzles. Hate ’em. And, she told me that there were many puzzles and adventures in this book. I kind of glossed over the puzzle bits, but enjoyed the adventures and the vivid characters.

So, yes. It’s a good book. A nice, fun story. But, I have to say, If I had known that the actual adventure doesn’t start until after the 10th chapter, I would have started there. That’s when the actual Games begin. Before that, there is just a lot of set-up. Who is this kid? Why’s his dad in trouble with the law? As far as I’m concerned… Who cares?

It would have been a much better book, had it stared at the 10th chapter mark. For me, anyway. So, tear ’em out of this book. Stomp on ’em. Call ’em dirty names. Because, that’s what they deserve. Those chapters are bad, and they should feel bad.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

