0mr

4 of 5 What-The-Fuck Stars – The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

A compelling read. Very unique setting and story. The characters are well developed and distinct. The plot is intriguing. I never knew what would happen next. Quite the page turner.

This book is pretty much the story of Lord of the Flies, in a maze. A boy wakes up in a box, being raised to the courtyard of the maze, when all the Flies boys come up to greet his greenie ass.

The new boy is curious about the maze. So, against the rules, because of course it’s against the rules, he runs out, into the maze to save one of the fellow Flies boys. It’s against the rules, because it’s impossible to survive out in the maze at dark, because the monsters come out at dark.

But guess what? The new boy prevails, and saves the other boy, killing and avoiding monsters, like he’s some kind of superhero. But it turns out that he’s not, in fact, a superhero. He’s the asshole who built the maze. He just doesn’t remember all of that nonsense, because plot reasons.

The book really made no sense whatsoever. The entire book seemed like a trailer or set-up for the next book. It posed many questions but gave no answers. The ending was very disappointing. This book forced you to read the next book. Frankly, fuck that shit. Give me a complete story, goddamnit. Beginning, middle, and end.

It was still a compelling read. It was a good book. I would definitely recommend it. But seriously, fuck books that are just set-ups for the next book. Fuck them in their dirty assholes.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. kirk72 says:

    Loved this book but also hated the ending. Now I have to read the rest to see what happens

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daniel Waltz says:

    A lot of my friends read this series and liked the first but said it progressively got worse or just kinda fell apart. I started it but the slang drove me nuts. I know it was a choice, and it worked well, I personally just couldn’t do it. I did see the movie. People hated that. I was entertained but while at the same time saw its problems.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      I saw, and reviewed the movie as well. It wasn’t bad. But yes, the series does get much worse. The slang also drove me nuts in this book, but I plowed through it anyway, just because the story was so compelling. The other books in the series really aren’t compelling at all. And the last one was a complete waste.

      Like

Leave a Reply

