It’s Kind of a Funny Story – is not funny at all

Posted: January 25, 2015 in 3 Star Reviews, Fiction, Young Adult
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

0k

3 of 5 Whiney-Ass-Bitch Stars – It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini.

This book really hit home for me. Like a lot of teenagers, when I was 15, I was suicidal as fuck. One time, I had the shotgun out of the closet. Loaded it. Put it up to my mouth. Then, I heard the front door open. My mom got home. Shit. So, I put the gun back, and pretended that nothing was wrong.

This book is about 15 year old Craig, who is much more depressed than I ever was. In fact, he’s probably schizophrenic, because he hears voices and shit. He thinks about jumping off the Brooklyn Bridge, but instead, he goes home and calls the suicide hotline.

They tell him to go to the hospital. Just check in at the emergency room, and tell them you’re fucking suicidal. So, he does. And he gets sent to the adult mental ward, because the children’s ward is being renovated, or some shit. They get him back on his meds, and he starts feeling a wee bit better.

The problem I have with this book, is the first half is completely worthless. It’s just Craig whining like a little bitch. Awww. School is hard. People don’t like me. OMG, I got a 93% on a test. My life is over. Jesus fucking christ, man. Get over yourself.

The book doesn’t really get interesting until he checks himself into the mental ward. Then, all the crazy characters come out to play. And, for some reason, all the girls want to fuck him. I mean, seriously. The girls in the ward want to fuck him. The girls from school suddenly want to fuck him. What the fuck?

There’s nothing fuckable about this guy. He’s just some random fucked-up teenager. Okay, he does get more interesting when he starts doing his drawings. He gets all sensitive and shit. Hell, I kind of wanted to fuck him during that part of the story.

And, by the way, it’s not a funny story at all. Not in the slightest. If anything, it’s depressing as fuck. Well, until near the end, when he finally gets some inspiration to actually change his life. Then it at least gets hopeful. But funny? It was never funny.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. ToddMedicii says:

    You’re really diving into my recommendations. I really liked the whole “drawing map” way to help himself. I dare say, if I had access to a gun whenever I wished for it, I would not be here. Unfortunately, writing did not help Vizzini as he committed suicide two or three years ago.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      Yes, I was sad when I read about him killing himself. It was shortly after I read his other book The Other Normals, (link is to my review of that book) which I really loved. And I don’t remember you recommending this one. It’s been on my reading list for quite a while now. 😛

      Like

  2. Bowrag says:

    Book is great… Movie I thought was even better.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, this is both sad (author committed suicide) and hilarious. Even you wanted a go at the guy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      Yeah, something tells me that this book is somewhat based on a true story. It wouldn’t surprise me to find out that this author had been in a mental ward at some point in his life. But still, it’s not a funny story at all. 😛

      Like

  4. Thank you for bringing a smile to my face (with your review rather than the subject matter of the book). Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

