0ins

2 of 5 Die-Tris-Die Stars – Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

I don’t know why I kept reading this stupid fucking series. I mean, it’s just so goddamn immature. And I should know. I’m like a 12 year old stuck in a 45 year old body. But, this stupid skank Tris is just such a whiney bitch. I can’t stand her, and she’s the motherfucking narrator.

So, why the hell am I still reading this shit? I’ll tell you why. Because somewhere, deep in the muck, after you get past all the teenage angst, and cry-baby antics, there’s an interesting story in there. Sure, it’s near impossible to find. It’s buried under piles and piles of horseshit. But, if you’ve got the patience, you may just find it.

This book starts out, pretty much right after the first book left off. Tris and Four are on the run, looking for a safe haven. The peaceful Amish faction (yes, I forgot the faction name, okay? Fuck off. Reading’s hard), who do most of the farming, because that’s what peaceful Amish fucks do… That faction welcomes in all the fleeing factionless assholes.

Then the fun begins. Fingers are pointed. Blame is thrown. Tris is found to be a motherfucking murderer. Oh noes. Lock that bitch up! How dare she actually defend herself against someone who was going to shoot her.

Then, Four is found to maybe be a traitor, or something. Because his daddy beat him. Or his mommy didn’t pay enough attention to him. And that’s just so sad… Oh, who the fuck cares? I mean, really. Get on with it, goddamnit.

So there’s the fight scene. Guess who wins? Yup. Four and Tris take off on a train out past the walls, to live another day in exile. Whooptie-freaking-doo.

Now watch, I’ll just dive right into the next goddamn book. Because apparently, I love torturing myself with teenage angst. Somebody please just shoot me.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. Jessica says:

    I was the same way with the Maze Runner Trilogy and the Infernal Devices Trilogy. If I start a trilogy, I usually have to finish it. Same thing. The plots were great! The way it was told, not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      Yea, after reading the first book, there were so many unanswered questions. Same with the maze runner. So, I just have to read the next, just in case there are any answers. Of course, there usually are no answers. Motherfuckers! 😛

      Like

  2. The fact that the source of the film is just as bad as the film itself. Recently we had a novelist give our Diploma class a lecture, and she said you’re pretty much guaranteed to be published if you write a half-decent young adult novel.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gegrizzle says:

    Yeah, I really have no fucking idea why these young adult books are so fucking popular. I just don’t get it. So much bullshit teenage angst. I hate it so much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

