The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul – is way too long

Posted: February 14, 2015 in 2 Star Reviews, Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

0dirk

2 of 5 Title-Is-More-Interesting-Than-The-Book Stars – The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams.

Douglas Adams is one of my favorite authors. I absolutely love the Hitchhikers series. But, this book… This Dirk Gently series is complete garbage. It’s very disappointing. I really wanted to like this series, but I just can’t. And to think, they actually made a British TV series out of these books. So sad.

I distinctly remember when I first read this book. The wife and I waited in line at the bookstore, in 1989. We both got a copy, because there was no fucking way I was going to wait for her to finish, even though it only took her a couple hours. About two chapters into my book, I turned to her and asked, “What the fuck is this book about?”

“Hell if I know,” she said. By that time she was on the last few pages, and still didn’t have a clue what was going on.

The book starts out about an airport that explodes for no apparent reason. It was an interesting set-up. But then that part of the story is completely set aside, once Dirk Gently is introduced. You would think that once the titular character shows up, the story would really get going. But no. It drags.

It turns out that the best part of this book is Dirk’s refrigerator. And his couch. Both are fascinating. But, the characters, or the actual story? Not so much. So, fuck Dirk’s refrigerator in its dirty asshole. Preferably, on his fucked up couch.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. gegrizzle says:

    Reblogged this on Glenn Hates Books and commented:

    —— I expected better from you, Mr. Adams. Shame on you for making me love your work. I hate this book so much.

    Like

  2. jessmbaum says:

    What?! You can’t give Douglas Adams a bad review. Come on Glenn haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gegrizzle says:

    Yeah, tell me about it. I fucking love Douglas Adams. But these bullshit Dirk Gently books are just substandard for Adams. I remember when this book first came out, I was so excited for a new Adams book, but then I read it, and fuck me it sucked so much ass it pissed me off. So yea, Douggie can suck a big fat cock for writing this garbage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

