On Writing – makes King a bloody hypocrite

Posted: February 21, 2015 in 2 Star Reviews, Non-Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

0ow2

2 of 5 Do-As-I-Say-Not-As-I-Do Stars – On Writing by Stephen King.

This book is bullshit. If Stephen King followed his own advice in this book, his books would only be about 100 pages long.

Don’t get me wrong, he does give some good advice in this book. For instance: write every day. Good advice, sure. Be concise, and to the point. Good advice as well. But can anyone say that King’s books are concise and to the point? Not really. If anything, they’re the exact opposite.

Here’s some more of his keen wisdom from this book: if you can write a sentence with fewer words and still convey the same idea, use fewer words. This is the bit that gets me. It’s great advice. I use this advice. But King’s books are always chock-full of filler bullshit words/paragraphs/complete chapters that don’t fucking need to be there.

His novel Insomnia, for instance. 672 motherfucking pages. There’s about a 100 page decent story buried in that pile of pages. It’s like this for most of his books. They are just full of bullshit filler.

I used to love King’s books, back in the day. The Shining was fucking awesome. So was Carrie. But since then, he’s just been pumping out the pages for no real reason.

So, fuck Stephen King in his dirty asshole. Because, fuck man. Take your own advice, for fuck’s sake, and stop filling your books with page after page of blithering fat.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. When reading books such as these, or articles about writing, I think there can be a danger of becoming a carbon copy of another writer, and loosing what makes your writing unique.
    Although it is obvious that King has many years more experience in this business than me, I will always take things like this with a pinch of salt. I believe it is good to bend or break the rules to achieve what you want, even if that means defying the established authors.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Paul J. Stam says:

    Right on!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed this book, but you are spot on. I laughed when he talked about taking 10% out of a manuscript. I generally glaze over about 50–70% of his books. Don’t get me wrong, he has an imagination like no other; if you’re into an obscene amount of detail, King is your go-to guy. I loved his description at the end, of his hit and run. It reminded me of old-school King who wrote about something and got right to the point of the matter with out a lot of fluff.

    Once again, awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mark V. says:

    This applies to Under the Dome, and it was the last book by King that I completed despite consistently reading everything he published prior. It was too thick with superfluous filler.

    He’s becoming Lovecraft with the lengthy descriptions. The thing is, I find Lovecraft’s manic descriptions more appealing than King’s

    Like

  5. Jim Maher says:

    I’ve always been more a fan of his short stories than his toilet-paper-in-a-pinch epics. I still want to find a copy of the non-director’s cut version of ‘The Stand.’ I love the story, but wouldn’t mind checking it out with King’s self-prescribed 10% cut.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      Holy shit! There’s a non-director’s cut? Does it suck even worse than that goddamn mini-series? I’m also a huge fan of his short stories. In fact, I liked King more when he was channelling Richard Bachman. Those early stories were his best work, in my opinion.

      Like

  6. You are the only other person I’ve ever read that didn’t like this book. I agreed with some of his writing advice, but thought he made some blanket statements that wouldn’t work for a lot of people. I did like the little bio bits in the book and was smiling when I read about how he sold Carrie.
    Great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I read a lot of the earlier Stephen King stuff, but I lost my way with his style and dropped him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

