0ready

4 of 5 Golden-Ticket Stars – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.

So, Willy Wonka and the virtual world. That’s what this book is. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. It still makes for a very interesting book. But I still had some issues with it.

The “Ready Player One” bit, for instance. That is a phrase for arcade games, or console games, where there are possibilities of a second player. The way this game is described, everyone has their own console, or actually a visor that logs them into the virtual world. There’s never a second player. At no time would this game ask “Ready Player One”.

That argument aside, this is a very cool book. A compelling read that is only mostly predictable. I mean, from the very beginning, you find out that the protagonist will in fact be the one who wins the contest. So, the rest of the book is just the story of the journey of how he got there.

It’s not very often that an author spoils the entire book from the very first page, but this author does it with style. He’s all “Fuck you, man! This is what’s going to happen… Deal with it.” *Puts on sunglasses*.

This book is about a virtual reality game that everyone on the planet is pretty much addicted to. The creator of the game dies, and wills his vast fortune to whomever can find and solve the many Easter eggs that he scattered throughout the game. It’s a crazy, fun adventure, most of the time.

I’m not going to mention the completely impossible bits that make no sense. Because that would be nit-picky. And, I’m not a nit-picker, damnit. Oh, who am I kidding. I’m totally a nit-picker. Okay, maybe I’ll mention just one bit that made no sense whatsoever. Like the fact that the protagonist spent hours on an arcade version of Ms. Pac-Man, to get a perfect score.

There was no reason for him to do this. He did not know there would be a reward from this accomplishment, that would win him the entire contest. So, why did he set forth to get the perfect score? Just because he has crazy OCD? He never had OCD before that… So, yea. Doesn’t make sense at all.

It was still a very fun book to read. But yea, fuck Willy Wonka. Fuck him in his dirty chocolate asshole.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. Anne says:

    I freakin’ LOVE that book! Great review – spot on!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Anne says:

    People who review books SHOULD be nit-pickers! I tend to swing high and low – love something or hate it. I need to find more gray areas, lol.

    Like

  3. Loved this book to the point where I don’t see the flaws I just want to give it to people and force them to love it. Lol glad you liked it though, he’s got a new book coming out this year, I don’t think it’s in the same world though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      heh. I gave this book to my wife and insisted she read it, because of its pure awesomeness. She’s been holding on to it now for months. She says she’s waiting until she absolutely NEEDS a good book. lolz. Every so often I find an even better book, and holler at her, “Hey! This book is even better than Ready Player One!”

      She just sighs and says, “Shut up! I’ll read it when I’m good and ready. Damn.”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

