Creep – revealed my secret

Posted: March 17, 2015 in 3 Star Reviews, Fiction, Horror
Tags: , , , , , , ,

0creep

3 of 5 Creep-Does-Not-Rhyme-With-Deep Stars – Creep by T. Kent, among others.

This is a good book of poems and flash fiction. But perhaps I’m biased because I love horror so much. And you wouldn’t think that I’m a big fan of poetry, now would you? Of course you wouldn’t think that. Because I’m a fucking idiot.

But there’s a secret, you see. Don’t let me fool you. I’m not really an idiot, I just play one on TV. And I studied poetry in college, so I know a good poem when I see it. And let me tell you this, these are not good poems.

Okay, there’s like 2-3 good poems in this collection. But for the most part, they’re complete shit. They’re just pointless. They don’t tell a story, or make me feel ANYTHING. It’s just bla bla bla (insert rhyme here) bla bla bla.

That’s not poetry. Oh shut the fuck up. Yes, it’s poetry in the literal sense, but it’s not good poetry. Good poetry doesn’t need such a structure. But every single fucking poem in this collection rhymed like it’s a book for three-year-olds.

But it’s not a fucking book for three-year-olds, goddamnit. They’re poems about death, and gore, and serial killers, for fuck’s sake. So throw that goddamn iambic pentameter out the window and give me some real fucking creativity.

Or maybe that particular poetry structure was what was required by the publisher for this volume. Who the fuck knows? All I know is, it annoyed the fuck out of me.

This collection was saved by some brilliant flash fiction. Those stories were awesome. I really wish the whole book was filled with those stories, even though like 70% of them were set during Halloween. That’s a bit too many Halloween stories, don’t ya think?

At least they’re good Halloween stories. Except one. It’s titled ‘Mayhem’, so you know what to avoid. Seriously, skip that goddamn story, because it’s fucking bullshit.

You know that awesome movie, Crash? Where there’s all these different stories interconnecting with each other? This story was like that, and then, out of nowhere, it just ends. It was building to something awesome, and then just ends. What the fuck?

Overall, I’m still glad I read this collection, and I would definitely recommend it. It’s a good book, but it could have been much better.

Get my book, Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1. It’s free, with Kindle Unlimited.

Visit me at Goodreads and  Follow me on Twitter &
Facebook

Leave a Reply

