The Letters – get a bit personal

Posted: March 17, 2015 in 4 Star Reviews, Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

0let

4 of 5 Sassy-Ass-Bitch Stars – The Letters by Ella Drayton.

I really enjoyed this book. It caught me off guard. I was in the middle of reading a book, when someone handed me this one. As usual, I flipped through the first few pages of this book, just out of curiosity. Totally expecting to put it aside and finish the other book I was reading.

But I couldn’t do it. I just kept reading this book because I was captivated from the first page. I can’t really explain it. I mean usually, I’ll look at a synopsis on goodreads or amazon before reading a book. But with this one, I didn’t even bother.

I had no fucking clue what this book was about, and yet I kept on reading it. It seemed to be some sort of love story about a foul-mouthed bitch, and her asshole ex. I don’t know why I kept reading it, because I fucking hate romance novels. Somehow, I was transfixed on this goddamn book. The characters just sucked me in.

And then, out of nowhere, the story turns into a murder mystery. I didn’t even know that the main character was a fucking cop. But apparently, she really is a detective. A sassy one, at that. And some jackass is sending her letters, giving her clues to where dead bodies can be found.

Clues that are a bit umm… Personal. So she goes and arrests her old boyfriend from high school, because the body turned out to be the guy’s fucking fiance. So, of course he killed her, right? He’s so fucking guilty. He lies to the detective, and can’t provide an alibi.

I mean, it’s so obvious he’s guilty that he can’t possibly be guilty. Then, the sassy cop chick gets another letter describing yet another location from her past love life. A location where another body can be found. And guess what, the cop chick’s old boyfriend can be tied to that place as well.

I want to say that the best part of this book was the story, because it kept me guessing until the end. I never figured out who the killer was, until they were finally revealed. But that’s not really the best part. The best part of this book is the characters. They’re what kept my eyes glued to the page.

That being said, I still had my issues. For instance, I’m not sure if this author understands what the fuck ‘dialog’ means. It’s supposed to be a discussion. Not two people having monologues with each other. Because that’s what the dialog in this book seemed like. Characters would go on and on for pages, as they were supposedly having a discussion with someone, without anyone interrupting.

It’s just not natural. People don’t talk like that. Give me some back and forth, for fuck’s sake. That’s how people talk. Nobody talks for half an hour, then lets the other person talk for half an hour. That’s fucking retarded. I could understand if it was just one couple doing this, but it was every fucking character in this book. Talking for pages on end, without any real dialog.

That doesn’t negate the fact that it’s a great book. I’d highly recommend it, even with the back and forth monologues. It was still captivating and fun to read.

Get my book, Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1. It’s free, with Kindle Unlimited.

Visit me at Goodreads and  Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. Mike Finn says:

    After I read your review, I downloaded the sample from Kindle: It sounded like off-beat fun but I couldn’t get past the unnatural dialogue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment