Little Secrets – actually disturbed me

Posted: March 24, 2015 in 4 Star Reviews, Fiction, Horror
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

0sec

4 of 5 Sick-And-Twisted Stars – Little Secrets by S. N. Graves.

This is a very disturbing story about parents who hate their children. I get it, man. Kids are a pain in the fucking ass. But you don’t just kill ’em, and bury ’em in the woods. Especially if they’re pregnant. That’s just taking ‘Parent of the Year’ a bit too far, don’t ya think?

This story is about what happens when you bury a pregnant girl in the woods. Because, that’s how monsters are born. And sure enough, the monster stalks the woods at night, waiting for its prey.

But that’s not all. They also buried a pregnant cat in the woods. So now there’s a feral cat monster stalking the woods as well. That’s just great. How am I supposed to go streaking naked through the forest at night when there’s a bunch of monsters out there? I might get my dangly bits chewed off. Fuck that.

One of the most disturbing parts of this story is at the beginning, when the father asks the little girl to kill her kittens with a hammer. Seriously, dude? You’re gonna ask a little girl to do that shit? That’s fucking sick. But the girl refuses. So the father begins bashing the little heads in one by one. While the little girl watches, with tears in her eyes. Now THAT’S a disturbing scene. Seriously fucked up.

This is a short story, but it accomplishes so much, in a small amount of pages. Like character. All the characters in this story are well-developed. I can understand their motivation, and their emotion. Some authors can’t accomplish that in five hundred pages, let alone fifty.

I liked this story because it was disturbing and gory at the same time. It freaked me out, and sickened me. I fucking loved it. The only thing that was missing was a bit more back story. I’d really like to know more about how this family got so fucked up.

Get my book, Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1. It’s free, with Kindle Unlimited.

Visit me at Goodreads and  Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

