Prescription for Ratings – blood, blood, and more blood

Posted: June 25, 2015 in 4 Star Reviews, Fiction, Horror, Sci-Fi
Tags: , , , , , , ,

0ratings

 

4 of 5 Bloody-Fucked Stars – Prescription for Ratings: The Contestants by Kaisy Wilkerson-Mills.

This is a very interesting story. It’s filled with plenty of blood and guts and gore. And there’s even a reason for all the horror. It’s pure unadulterated bloody entertainment. It’s a reality show on crack.

Yes, this really is a story about a reality show, where people kill each other for fun and entertainment. Well, it’s not really for fun. For the producers, and the audience, maybe. But the contestants certainly don’t have any fun. They’re actually fighting for their lives. Fighting for the promise of fame and fortune.

The story begins with four contestants. A man and his wife. And a woman and her brother. It’s not really a coincidence that the woman hates her brother. And the wife kinda sorta hates her husband. Well, she doesn’t really hate him, per se. But he’s pretty much useless, and can’t give her the glamorous life she thinks she deserves.

First, it’s the woman against her brother. You can easily guess who wins, but I’m not going to spoil it for you. Then it’s the wife versus her husband. Again, take a wild guess who wins. It’s not really much of a surprise.

Then, the two remaining fighters get to rip each other apart. But not before being dosed with some uber-crack to bump up their adrenaline. I mean, you’ve got to make the fight as bloody and gory as possible if you want to get those sick-ass ratings, right? Damn straight.

The only problem I had with this story, is the fact that it’s incomplete. I mean, there are a lot of unanswered questions. But at least I know why. It’s because this is a part of a fucking series. So they left plenty of open holes to fill with the next story in the series.

Well, fuck that shit, man. I don’t want to read the next story because you fucking tricked me into it. I want to read the next one because this story was actually good. You didn’t need to leave so many holes in this story. People are going to read the next one because this one was actually quite good. Not to fill in the blanks, but just to continue reading such awesomeness.

But still, I really enjoyed this story. It had quite a bit of action in a short package. And the author even provided plenty of backstory, so you know why the woman hates her brother, and why the wife despises her useless husband. I can’t wait to see this show on TV. It’s gonna be good clean and bloody fun.

KEVIN SMITH LOVES MY BOOK, Glenn Hates Books Vol. 1. No, not THAT Kevin. The fat one. He LOVES the cock. Get my book. It’s fucking hilarious.

Visit me at Goodreads and  Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. kaisywmills says:

    Glenn, I fucking love your blog! Thank you again for this review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mike Finn says:

      I hate it when you buy the first book in a series and it doesn’t stand alone.

      I blame “Lost” where the series name seemed to describe the script-writers most of the time. It had high production standards, great individual scenes and made no sense at all. I never made it to the end of the first season – but that was definitely a minority response.

      Liked by 2 people

      • gegrizzle says:

        What? I fucking loved Lost. Awesome show. Yes, it didn’t make any fucking sense. But that was part of the appeal. You never had any fucking clue what was about to happen on that show. It was awesome. 🙂

        Like

      • Mike Finn says:

        I guess I never learned to value confusion in my entertainment. I didn’t really want to be list with them.
        😊

        Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      It was well worth reviewing. Not like so many other books I review that make me hate books so much. lolz

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kaisywmills says:

    Reblogged this on The Dystopian Nation of City-State and commented:
    One awesome f***ing review! Thanks, Glenn!

    Glenn’s reviews are honest and raw. That’s why we f***ing love him!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gegrizzle says:

      Thanks a bunch! And you’ve got 31 likes on my site so far, which is much more than most of my reviews get. So maybe you’ll actually get some sales from my review. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

