Yes Please – is disturbingly pleasing

Posted: July 10, 2015 in 4 Star Reviews, Non-Fiction
Tags: , , , , , , ,

0p

4 of 5 Fucking-Awesome Stars – Yes Please by Amy Poehler.

This book is fucking hilarious, which I found quite surprising. Because I can’t fucking stand Amy Poehler. She’s not funny, goddamnit. Or at least I thought she wasn’t funny. I can’t watch that horrible show Parks & Rec. It’s just so fucking bad. And I was never much of a fan of Poehler when she was on SNL. But holy shit, her writing is fucking hilarious.

This book is more of what I’d expect from an autobiography from a comedian. An actual funny account of their life. How they got to where they are today. The crazy antics from their childhood. And their journey to stardom. That wasn’t what I got from that stupid cunt-face Moshe Kasher, in his horrible book, Kasher in the Rye, which I reviewed here.

But Amy Poehler actually delivers on that promise. She chronicles her journey from being a geeky and mostly unattractive girl in school (even though she still got hit on constantly, because she’s an ugly blond girl and everyone knows that blonds are stupid and easy), to being a fucking superstar. Even though I wouldn’t really call her a superstar. Yes, she’s very successful as a comedian, and makes a good living. But Parks & Rec? Fuck that show, man.

She tells stories like the time she and her girlfriend handcuffed themselves together at school, just for the fun of it. And lost the key on purpose, just to make everyone panic. Good times, man. And all those times that she fucked up her lines at the school play. And everyone laughed, apparently. Because look at that stupid ugly blond girl, fucking up her lines. Isn’t that hilarious?

She’s very self-deprecating, which I alway find funny. I do it myself constantly. There’s a chapter in this book about the demon that lives inside her head. That demon that says “Hey you! Yes, that ugly one. You’re fucking stupid, man. Just kill yourself.” And how she had to deal with that fucking demon every goddamn day of her life. Sometimes she choses to listen to the demon, and get all depressed. But other times she tells the demon to go fuck itself. Right in the ass. Because, fuck you, demon. I’m good, goddamnit. There’s nothing wrong with me, except for the fact that I’m on a shitty TV show. So shut your whore mouth, demon. Get fucked. I gots shit to do.

There are plenty of stories in this book about the many sketch groups she was part of. All the crazy antics that goes with doing live shows every night. You know, getting drunk and blowing some strange guy you don’t even know. Because he promised you some coke if you go down hard. And hey man, a girl’s gotta have her coke now and then, you know.

The only reason I didn’t give this book a perfect 5 star rating is because Amy made the mistake of letting that no-talent hack Seth Meyers write a chapter in her book. Because apparently he offered, and she said ‘fuck yes’. Because apparently, writing a book is hard. Who knew? But seriously, fuck Seth Meyers, man. He’s a horrible writer. And he’s also even less funny than Amy. How the bloody fuck that guy has his own talk show, I’ll never understand.

But I’d still highly recommend this book to just about everyone. It really is fucking hilarious. And smart. And informative. And she even gives you good advice on sex. ‘LICK THAT PUSSY!’ Well, that’s not very much advice. But apparently, as far as she’s concerned, LICK THAT PUSSY OR GET THE FUCK OUT OF MY BEDROOM! Or something to that effect. Oh yea, and apparently her boyfriend Nick Kroll has the biggest cock in hollywood. Yes, even bigger than Liam Neeson. Hard to believe, I know.

KEVIN SMITH LOVES MY BOOK! No, not THAT Kevin. The fat one. He LOVES the cock. Get my book. Because even I’m funnier than Seth Fucking Meyers. http://amzn.to/1wKcVK6

Visit me at Goodreads and  Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments
  1. Louis Medici says:

    I’m not a fan of her either but you (once again) have persuaded me to pick up a book I didn’t think I’d like.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. gegrizzle says:

    It really is strange… I mean I seriously can’t stand her. But she sure can write a mean-ass book. I fucking loved it. Well, except for the Seth Fucking Meyers bit, of course. lolz 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ruckasaurus says:

    I may check it out too. I really enjoyed Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson, so I might like this one just as much. It sounds like kind of the same theme. Although I’m pretty sure there was no coke or blow jobs in Lawson’s book…just dead animals…hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. gegrizzle says:

    Oh, I haven’t read Lawson’s book. I might have to check that one out. But without blowjobs and coke, what’s the point? lolz 😛

    Like

  5. Mike Finn says:

    This has been promoted fairly heavily but I skipped right over it because it looked boring. Now you’ve got me intrigued and my ever growing TBR list just got longer. BTW – I’ve never heard that about Liam Neesom. Perhaps it’s one of the perks of being a Jedi master. Except I can see that applying to Ewan McGregor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

