after

5 of 5 Alien Stars – In The After by Demitria Lunetta.

This book was excellent. I started reading it one night, after the power went out. I lost track of time, as I sat there, reading by candlelight. Hours ticked by, and finally, the power came back on. I was about 2/3 through this book, when I went back to whatever I was doing before the power went out. But, I couldn’t shake this book. So, I went back to it, and finished it that night. I just couldn’t put it down.

It’s the story of an alien invasion. A young girl named Amy is stranded, after her parents were killed. She bunkers down in her house, which was quite fortified, because her parents were crazy hippy survivalist nuts. The house even had an electric fence that surrounded it, which actually help keep the aliens out.

She watches as the invaders tear through town, feasting on sweet human flesh. She stays quiet, because she learns that the aliens have extra sensitive hearing. She finds a girl in a supermarket who is only a couple years old, but somehow she had survived the attack. The toddler tries to talk, but Amy keeps her quiet, and even teaches her sign language, from a book her parents had in their library.

While I was getting near the end of this book, I was worried. I kept thinking of ways the author could screw up the ending. But I was pleasantly surprised. The ending was just as good as the rest of the book, if not better. It was just fucking amazing.

Visit me at Goodreads and Follow me on Twitter & Facebook

Comments

Leave a Reply

